From Open Bioinformatics Foundation
Revision as of 12:59, 6 October 2016 by Lapp (talk | contribs) (Board of Directors)
Jump to: navigation, search

Board of Directors

The board can be contacted via email at board@open-bio.org


Hilmar Lapp 
Representing BioPerl, Director of Informatics at the Center for Genomic and Computational Biology (GCB) at Duke University


Peter Cock 
Biopython core developer, bioinformatician at the James Hutton Institute. BOSC 2016 co-chair


Chris Fields 
BioPerl core developer, researcher fellow at the Institute for Genomic Biology at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

At-large members

Karen Cranston
Research Scientist, Duke University, and PI, Open Tree of Life.
Nomi Harris 
Project Manager at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. BOSC 2016 co-chair.
Heather Wiencko

Past Board Members

Ewan Birney 
Past President and At-large Member, BioPerl core developer. Coordinator of the EBI half of the Ensembl genome annotation project.
Andrew Dalke 
Past Secretary, Represented BioPython & Dalke Scientific.
Steven E. Brenner 
Past At-large member, Professor at University of California, Berkeley.
Kam Dahlquist 
Past At-large Member, Associate Professor at Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles.
Chris Dagdigian 
BioPerl co-founder & OBF sysadmin. Employed by the BioTeam.
Jason Stajich 
BioPerl core developer. Assistant Professor at University of California, Riverside. Former OBF President.

Board of Directors Meetings

Upcoming Board Meeting:

Minutes of past Board Meetings:

Nominating Committee

According to the bylaws, the Nominating Committee "shall attempt to contact members of the Board of Directors and active members of the OBF in an effort to identify eligible members interested in serving on the Board of Directors, and to solicit nominations from the general membership." (see Art. IV.7) It consists of "the Parliamentarian and a minimum of 2 active members of the OBF."

Currently serving:

  1. Nomi Harris, BoD, Parliamentarian
  2. Scott Markel, active member
  3. Aaron Mackey, active member

See also overall expectations for Board members.